My Dad called me Lunk-Plunk!

I believe in Fathers!

So much so I want to dedicate the next several blog posts

to all good Dad’s

in the month that celebrates them!

I am not one of those women who flaunts being better in a “manless” existence.

I believe Fathers are invaluable in the social framework of family and their influence and service is priceless.

Father reading scriptures

In a talk given by D. Todd Christofferson called “Fathers,” he quotes a passage…

 by David Blankenhorn, the author of Fatherless America, has observed: “Today, American society is fundamentally divided and ambivalent about the fatherhood idea. Some people do not even remember it. Others are offended by it. Others, including more than a few family scholars, neglect it or disdain it. Many others are not especially opposed to it, nor are they especially committed to it. Many people wish we could act on it, but believe that our society simply no longer can or will.”1

https://www.lds.org/general-conference/2016/04/fathers?lang=eng

I stand up for Dad’s!

Good dad’s.

Loving Dad’s.

Dad’s who work hard,

who try hard,

and desire the best for their children and families.

WE NEED YOU IN OUR LIVES!

This is the concluding story from the talk:

The author [from the magazine The New Era} recounted the following:

“When I was young, our little family lived in a one-bedroom apartment on the second floor. I slept on the couch in the living room. …

“My dad, a steelworker, left home very early for work each day. Every morning he would … tuck the covers around me and stop for a minute. I would be half-dreaming when I could sense my dad standing beside the couch, looking at me. As I slowly awoke, I became embarrassed to have him there. I tried to pretend I was still asleep. … I became aware that as he stood beside my bed he was praying with all his attention, energy, and focus—for me.

“Each morning my dad prayed for me. He prayed that I would have a good day, that I would be safe, that I would learn and prepare for the future. And since he could not be with me until evening, he prayed for the teachers and my friends that I would be with that day. …

“At first, I didn’t really understand what my dad was doing those mornings when he prayed for me. But as I got older, I came to sense his love and interest in me and everything I was doing. It is one of my favorite memories. It wasn’t until years later, after I was married, had children of my own, and would go into their rooms while they were asleep and pray for them that I understood completely how my father felt about me.”22

None of us has the perfect dad. (Mine was just right for me!)

Some of us don’t even have a dad in our homes.

But children need Fathers in their lives.

There is nothing that compares to a hug from a dad;

especially our own dad!

I believe in Fathers and I always will!

I love you Dad, where ever you are today in Heaven…

(thanks for sending that little message that you are still close…)

This entry was posted in My Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

