Tiny little cabin in the woods

My father bought my mother a tiny little cabin in the woods.

We have come to it since I can remember.

We always had cousins come and we all slept in sleeping bags everywhere!

Me and my siblings grew up and began to bring girl friends and boyfriends

who, eventually turned into spouses adding to the sleeping bag count.

Then the babies came…

Then the babies grew up and began to bring girl friends and boyfriends

who, eventually turned into spouses adding even more to the sleeping bag count.

Then more babies came…

The tiny little cabin is filled to the brim

with sleeping bags!

Each family member finds “home” at the tiny little cabin in the woods,

connecting, sharing, laughing, loving…

and no internet access!!

Each time we come is like new.

We can’t wait to get there.

We inhale the air,

then turn young for a brief moment.

It is not fancy.

It is not big enough.

It does not have enough bathrooms.

But it does have the old table we used to sit around as children with the same chairs.

It has old board games and puzzles.

It has big black spiders and bears that visit.

It has places to read, picnic blankets, and the best crawdad cage. (Bacon is the key)!

It has dollar trees that were transplanted from a forest stream which leaves shimmer back and forth in the wind and when you sit on the porch you can hear that same wind through the pine trees which sounds like a train rushing by.

We have painted and repainted the furniture, and then repainted it again.

We have raked trillions of pine needles and rubbed mayonnaise on our skin to get off the pine cone sap.

I just returned from there with my family.

Every time I go I am reminded that wealth is really not gold or silver, diamonds, or fame.

My father bought my mother a tiny little cabin in the woods.

That’s it.

And we are the wealthiest family

because of what has been created there…

.

This entry was posted in My Children's Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tiny little cabin in the woods

  1. Paulette says:

    I love that Jen! You are rich with love and blessings!

  2. j. forreaux says:

    Aw I wish to be able to make the same kind of loving traditions with my own kids..you are blessed.

Leave a Reply

