Am I crazy or what! Here goes…

1. Begin your search.  Scour garage sales and thrift stores for dishes, pottery, sea glass, shells, pearls, stained glass or anything you think of that would look great in a mosaic. (Or, like I did, put out the word to your friends and have them drop off their broken pieces.)

Broken pieces of china

Broken pieces of china

Then the fun part!

Take a hammer to it or drop it “accidentally.” Be sure to wear safety glasses, little tiny pieces of glass fly everywhere and stick, even to eye balls!

2.  prepare the surface…which depends on what you want to put it on.

Sand wood pieces and seal wood.

DSC_0670

Roughly sanded. It will soon be covered up!

Roughly sanded. It will soon be covered up!

 

3. I wanted to have part of the piece be gold leafed so I taped off the mantel and undercoated those places I wanted gold with red craft acrylic paint. Then I placed the manufactured gold leaf adhesive over the dried red paint. After that was cured, which stays tacky I placed the gold leaf sheets on the piece.

It is so much fun! But very delicate and messy.

It is so much fun! But very delicate and messy.

4. I cleaned it up and then stained the gold to make it look aged.

staining the gold leaf

staining the gold leaf

5. Now is the fun part. With acrylic tile adhesive, or if you are doing it outside on cement use thin set morter adhesive, you basically frost the backs of your pieces you broke up and lay them however you want on your piece. It will take about 24 hours for the adhesive to really set up. You keep filling in the holes as much as you want until you completely go crazy and then you know you are done.

one at a time

one at a time

6. Don’t forget to jam to music or ponder, or sit in silence and pray. It is a great art meditative moment as you keep adding piece by piece.

starting to fill in...

starting to fill in…

7. Pretty soon you step back and notice that it is filling in and looking pretty cool! Kinda weird but cool!

Add some bling. This is from my husband's grandma Fox. I love her pretty things!

Add some bling. This is from my husband’s grandma Fox. I love her pretty things!

8. Keep going!

Add some zany!

Add some zany!

9. Keep going!

And silly...

And silly…

10. Keep going for millions of hours!

Fake smile. I was sick of it now! Love the safety glasses though.

Fake smile. I was sick of it now! Love the safety glasses though.

11. Perhaps you can’t walk anymore but keep going!

I had to give it a rest for awhile!

I had to give it a rest for awhile!

12. Okay, I stopped and rested in-between. Then I faced the pieces again…

fragments of life...

fragments of life…

Beautiful!

closer look

closer look

13. Then one day the last piece went in.

It was now ready to grout!

But I will post that later.

Now go have a cup of herbal tea!

Phew!

 

 

This entry was posted in From my Heart and Hands and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Am I crazy or what! Here goes…

  1. Daniel Edwards says:

    I love the little details! like the little cup handle sticking out on the side, or the little pearls- they add such an ice elegant touch– looks AMAZING mom

  2. Amazing! A serious labor of love. So detailed and just beautiful!

Leave a Reply

