Skater shoes and a vomit bowl

Life changes so subtly.

We usually don’t notice.

I watched my son

walk in sync

with his dad

to the train

dressed in a suit

and shined

black shoes,

as I drove away.

When I walked back in

the front door,

his skater shoes

were sitting by the door

waiting for him

to come home.

My daughter has

been connected to

a vomit bowl

for 97 days.

I counted.

Until last night.

She didn’t notice

she forgot to

take it to bed.

It sat there empty, dry.

Like the seasons

we change

and grow

every second

so quietly,

unnoticed.

Even

when

we hold on tightly

to our

moments,

change

needs

to

come.

 

 

This entry was posted in My Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Skater shoes and a vomit bowl

  1. peggy says:

    so true and timely Jen. thanks.

Leave a Reply

