Holding tight to summer

Dear Summer,

 

You and me are going to hang out for the duration!

 

I got a new book at the library today when my flat tire was getting fixed next door.

 

I bought more sunscreen.

 

I am keeping my promise and won’t vacuum until the fall!

 

I want to continue to be awakened by birds playing tag at my feeders and serenaded by cicadas in the trees when I go to bed.

 

I am still eating cherries, reminiscing about when dad would climb the trees and throw them down on the grass for us to pick up in buckets when we were young.

 

I have beach towels still drying on the deck and flip flops gathered at the door.

 

I won’t make the kids go to bed.

 

I will take that extra walk in the sunshine, barefoot– just because.

 

I will go several more times to the beach and watch the waves come in and go out.

 

I will smell BBQ’s and chlorine, and bug spray until the end.

 

I will gladly stub my toe, because every summer everyone has to do it at least once and I haven’t stubbed mine yet.

 

I want to hold tight to you, summer. 

 

I am not ready for another school year to begin.

 

I am not ready to let you go…            

yet!

 

Please stay a little bit longer.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in My Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Holding tight to summer

  1. Jessica says:

    I love this and this is exactly how I’m feeling. My summer ends in about two days and it seems as if I’m trying everything I can to hold on a little longer.

Leave a Reply

