How silly…

Today I went to visit my Alzheimer friend.

We share music time together.

I go then because the ones awake,

hum or sing even if they don’t know the words.

That’s my kind of singing place!

There is an older gentleman

who raises his arms

and taps the air with imaginary drum sticks for every song.

He used to be a doctor.

But today was the cutest thing.

There was a woman all dressed up in pastel springtime clothes.

She was standing with her walker at the door.

When Pat began playing a sentimental tune on the piano

she began to sway back and forth

while holding on to her walker.

As the music continued

she began to dance with her walker.

She twirled and stepped side to side in her little old shoes,

  feeling the rhythm and mood

of the music.

She danced the entire song right there in the hallway,

as people walked by,

with her walker as her partner.

It was so precious

I am getting teary

just writing about it.

Silly, right?

This entry was posted in My Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How silly…

  1. Laura says:

    I used to help out in the Alzheimer’s ward when I was in high school. There was one woman whom I talked to often. She was always talking to me as though she always knew me from many times past. We had a conversation where she didn’t recall something we did together, and I was surprised she didn’t remember….and then realized that they talk like this to the people who visit them (an old familiar friend) so that way they won’t feel so out of place in the world. It was a really sad realization, and I felt very young at that moment to think that it could be different in an Alzheimer’s ward.

Leave a Reply

