Summer’s Treats

One of the secrets of a happy life is continuous small treats.”  Iris Murdoch

Have you treated yourself yet this summer?

If not, today is your day!

 

1.  Today I saw a very elderly man with a wet suit and surf board jump in the Pacific Ocean and I smiled…He was treating himself!

2.  Yesterday I watched a  young man on a ladder shine the longest, largest trailer I have ever seen.  As I drove by in the morning the dull dirty siding was just beginning to start to shine in only one corner.  As I drove by again that evening the entire thing was sparkling.  He treated himself.

3.  Once I signed up in the summer to be in a sidewalk pastel art contest that I visited as an onlooker at a vacation spot many times in the past.  I won second place.  But the award wasn’t my treat.  It was drawing the 12 foot by 8 foot drawing on the hot cement and having a blast as tons of onlookers watched me create.  That was such a treat.

4.  A few weeks ago I began to water my flowers in the dusk which is a treat in itself, but  I did it so I could stand watch as fireflies lit their lanterns to start the night sky in that magical way. I am always amazed when I see this. That’s a total summer treat.

5.  I made homemade milk shakes for a bunch of cheering teenagers and I drank the extra. That is such a treat!

6.  I treated myself and an 87 year old woman to a clam chowder picnic at the beach who hadn’t been there in years. That was such a treat!

7.  I plan to treat myself to a Lake Tahoe sun set, a rock on a balcony swing with a new baby, a night of old fashioned board games with my entire family, a yummy vanilla soft serve ice cream on a cone that is a little bit soggy, a day with my feet in the sand, a novel in my hand under an umbrella,…

8.  AND I LOOK FORWARD TO THE TREATS THAT ARE IN STORE FOR ME IN THE NEXT SEVERAL WEEKS OF SUMMER THAT I DON’T EVEN KNOW ABOUT YET.  THOSE WONDERFUL SURPRISE TREATS THAT MAKE SUMMER SPONTANEOUS AND WONDERFUL!

Go treat yourself! You deserve it.

Have fun with it!

 
This entry was posted in My Thoughts, Play Time, Sensitivity and Spirit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

